Ministry of Local Government and Rural Development

Desmond McKenzie

Desmond McKenzie

Minister CD, MP, JP

The Ministry of Local Government and Community Development acts as the agent of local development. This covers the areas of:

  • Development planning
  • Minor water supplies
  • Municipal parks & beautification
  • Markets
  • Parochial road maintenance
  • Poor relief
  • Street lighting
  • Solid waste management
  • Fire services
  • Disaster preparedness and emergency management
  • Local government amenities i.e. abattoirs, pounds and cemeteries



The Ministry dispenses its function through Five (5) agencies and Fourteen (14) local authorities namely;


  • The National Solid Waste Management Authority -NSWMA
  • Jamaica Fire Brigade
  • Board of Supervision (which is responsible for the nation’s infirmaries)
  • Social Development Commission -SDC
  • Office of Disaster Preparedness and Emergency Management -ODPEM
  • 14 Municipal Corporations – Local Authorities